Tartine, adapted

The classic Tartine country loaf recipe makes two loaves. I’m just test baking tomorrow, so I’ll divide the basic recipe in half (given at the end). I will depart from the Tartine method at a few points, and this is one of them: the salt is typically incorporated with about 8% of the water 30-40 minutes after the initial mix. I don’t find that this adds anything to the final product, but I will acknowledge that salt is not the favorite snack of yeast, commercial or wild. The salt (and all of the water) will go in during the initial mix.

The next departure will be at the bench proofing. I lack dough-rising baskets, which is probably to my detriment. Nonetheless, I am rather cheerful in my ignorance, since I have a rising method that also saves me the potential for a nasty burn from a hot combo cooker. My shaping is done on the bench – after the final shaping, I transfer my loaf to a rectangle of pan-lining paper (parchment on one side, foil on the other) and let it bench proof seam side down covered with an 8qt Dutch oven. When I’m ready to bake, I’ll slash my loaf and carry it in its sling to the skillet side of the combo cooker.

My bread lacks those lovely patterns of scorched flour from the remnants of the rising baskets, but tastes just as good. I can live with the low mark in the swimsuit competition – I can kick the ass in the talent portion.

Ingredient
Water (warm)
Leaven
White flour
Wheat flour
Salt
Amount
375g
100g
450g
50g
10g
Leave a Reply

