chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

Check-in Weight: 145.2

I like cookies like I like cake…and most cookies outside of a professional bakery are crap that isn’t worth eating. If you take a bite of a good, homemade cookie from scratch, then a bite of a store-bought cookie immediately after, you would realize how profoundly shitty most store-bought cookies are. So, do yourself, your body and your family a favor – don’t settle for crap. Made a good cookie at home. The Recipe and Baking Notes after the jump.

The Recipe. The base of my favorite chocolate chip oatmeal is here. I like the All Recipes website; it will scale your ingredients to servings and convert back and forth from metric to US measurements. In baking, this is pivotal – get a kitchen scale if you want to bake. Baking is about precision, and I have yet to meet the person who can measure a specific volume of flour twice and have each volume measurement *weigh* exactly the same. Baking by weight means more successful and replicable baking.

I make several changes to the recipe when I bake these cookies, so my adaptation is below:

225 grams butter
200 grams brown sugar <—10% less than called for
90 grams white sugar <—10% less than called for
2 large eggs
2 t vanilla extract
155 grams all-purpose flour
1/2 t baking soda
1 t salt
245g quick-cooking (rolled) oatmeal
170 grams bittersweet chocolate chips or chunks (fuck you, sugar, I want flavor)
No nuts

Baking Notes. The directions on the website are adequate, but I have some baking notes that are worth a look:

Measure major ingredients using the metric system. A cup of flour is ~125 grams (find the weight that works for the recipe); a cup of sugar is 192 grams, a stick of butter is 115-120 grams. Minor additives like salt, baking soda, baking powder and vanilla/other extracts can still be measured by measureing spoon, of course!

Let your cookie dough rest in the fridge for a few hours (even overnight) before baking. just don’t leave the dough in the bowl – it’s easier to fully prep the cookies on the pan for baking or roll the dough into a log for easy slicing and panning later.

When you find a cookie recipe you like or want to try, reduce the total grams of sugar used to a weight ratio of 85-90 grams sugar for every 100 grams flour. When you are dealing with oatmeal cookies, simply reduce the total grams of sugar by 10%. Most American recipes use too much sugar; the flavors of the other ingredients will become more pronounced if you cut back on the sugar. I have to watch out when I do this with these cookies. When I bake them per the recipe, I don’t eat any; when I bake them to my specs above, I have to fight to urge to keep all the cookies for myself.

Leave a Reply

