cronuts: or, the acceptance of a foodie’s delight

20131222-103834.jpg
As I left for 12 days of staycation, one of my co-workers requested that I bring in cronuts during my off-time. Having noticed this craze in passing when it first started, I think the hype has died down enough to finally embark on this particular culinary adventure. If you have recently emerged from solitary confinement, a cronut is a doughnut made from croissant dough. In theory, one should prepare a croissant dough the old-fashioned way, with a lean dough, the requisite insertion of a butter sheet and subsequent turns of the dough.

In practice, I found a recipe that gives an acceptable result (for a cronut) with less hassle. This works quite splendid for me, since, if I’m going to go to all the fuss of making a traditional croissant dough, I’m going to bake some God-damned croissants, oui? Oui.

I think what pleases me best about this recipe is the metric measurements. The fellows in the video are British, which I assume means that they were not exposed to the horror that is American dessert making, what with the over-abundance of sugar and the volumetric measurements. No, they have provided a proper set of weight measurements for their dough; I think my only beef is the lack of exactitude in their icing measurement. No worries, though. Tomorrow, once I have made my icing, I will give an exact measure of lemon juice for every 100g of powdered sugar used.

Baking Notes. ‘Strong’ flour, as described in the recipe, is bread flour and ‘plain’ flour is all-purpose flour. When you are ready to fry your cronuts, 170 degrees Celsius is 338 degrees Fahrenheit. More baking notes will be added as I progress through the recipe today and tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

